BCCI Awards: Bumrah Becomes First Indian Pacer to receive "BCCI Cricketer of the Year" Award Twice


Shubman Gill also bagged Polly Umrigar award for Best Men's Cricketer after stellar 2023

Vishal Singh Jan. 24, 2024

Let's check how many Indian players won these prestigious awards -

Shubhman Gill -

Shubhman Gill

Shubman Gill, a young sensation from India, has won the coveted Polly Umrigar award for the finest men's cricket player of the year in 2023 thanks to his outstanding batting exploits for his country.

Shubman Gill, an extraordinary talent in Indian cricket, showcased his extraordinary abilities in all forms of the game in 2023. In 29 One Day International (ODI) matches, he accumulated an incredible 1,584 runs as an opening batsman with an average of 63.36 and a strike rate of 105.45, five of which were hundreds.

His incredible achievement of becoming the fastest cricketer to smash 2,000 ODI runs- a mark he accomplished in just 38 innings during a World Cup match against the Netherlands in Bengaluru—further demonstrated his power in the ODI format.

Among the many records Gill broke throughout his ODI career, he also became the youngest cricket player to reach a double century in ODIs and also scored the greatest T20I score by an Indian player. Having scored two centuries in Test cricket, he made a noteworthy impact there as well. He became the fifth Indian batter to register a century in all international forms when he hit his first century in T20Is against New Zealand.

Playing for the Gujarat Titans in the IPL, Gill maintained his impressive form. With three hundred among his 890 runs, the second-highest total in an IPL season, he was awarded the Orange Cap. Notable was his performance in the Qualifier 2 match, where he hit the greatest individual score in IPL playoff history with 129 runs.

It was scheduled to receive the esteemed honor, which was ultimately presented to him on January 23. The previous recipient of the honor was Jasprit Bumrah, who ended Virat Kohli's four-year winning streak in 2019. Following that, there have been no award ceremonies, thus BCCI decided to give the players in Hyderabad the outstanding awards.

Bumrah, Shami and Ashwin -

In addition to Gill, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, and Ravichandran Ashwin received Polly Umrigar prizes for their previous season's work. Shami received the honour in recognition of his exceptional 2019–20 campaign. Also, Bumrah became the first Indian pacer to receive the "BCCI Cricketer of the Year" Award twice.

Ashwin was next and he got the award for the 2020-21 season. Bumrah got his second Polly Umrigar award as he won it for the 2021-22 season