Checkout the India's Squad for Afghanistan


Sanju Samson and Shubman Gill returned as well, while Shreyas was rested and Rahul not selected.

Vishal Singh Jan. 7, 2024

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have returned to India's T20I squad after more than a year away from the three-match series against Afghanistan, India's last T20I series before the T20 World Cup in June.

Rohit has been appointed as the captain of the team, but Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav, who were the team captains during Rohit's absence, cannot be selected due to injuries. Rohit and Kohli have not played a T20I since India's semi-final loss to England in the T20 World Cup in November 2023, but they will be playing Test cricket in the lead-up to the 2023 World Test Championship and ODI World Cup final.

They decided to prioritize ODIs, their selection was made after India selection committee chairman Ajit Agarkar flew to South Africa during the New Year Test in Cape Town. This means both players will return to India's plans for the T20 World Cup to be held in West Indies and America.

India's T20I squad for series vs Afghanistan

Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.