Prakhar Chaturvedi Becomes First Player to Score 400* in Cooch Behar Trophy Final

Prakhar Chaturvedi

Young batting sensation from Karnataka delivers a gigantic session

Vishal Singh Jan. 15, 2024

In Test cricket, Brian Lara is the only player to score more than 400 runs. At the very end of his career, he completed it. However, it takes a lot to accomplish something this exceptional at the U19 level, as Karnataka's Prakhar Chaturvedi did against Mumbai in the Cooch Behar Trophy final, an annual four-day cricket competition for U19 players. During his effort, the teenage batsman broke records by smashing an unbeaten 404* in the first innings of the championship match.

Despite facing an overwhelming 638 deliveries, Prakhar opened the innings for Karnataka and remained unbeaten till they declared, striking 46 fours and 3 sixes. He is the first batter in history to score 400 runs in a final inning.

Curiously, Samit Dravid, the son of India's head coach Rahul Dravid, scored 22 runs off of 46 balls while batting at number five in the same game. The other century man or spotlight of the innings was Harshil Dharmani, who smashed 169 runs off 228 balls while bagging 19 fours and 5 sixes. Notably, Prakhar added an undefeated 163 runs with Samarth N for the 9th wicket before the innings was declared after he achieved the milestone. Together, they stitched 290 runs with him for the second wicket.

Regarding the match, it took place at KSCA Navule Stadium as the tournament final. Karnataka was put on the back foot after choosing to field first as they let up 380 runs to Mumbai in the first innings, with opener Ayush Mhatre scoring 145 runs. While bowling for Karnataka, Samit Dravid also claimed two wickets. But as soon as Prakhar Chaturvedi took the field and carved out a space for himself by hammering 404 runs, everything was eclipsed.

Following his knock, Karnataka smashed a massive 510-run advantage in the first innings. Both teams then chose to settle for a draw shortly after they declared on the fourth day of play. This season, Karnataka has won the Cooch Behar Trophy, having taken a first-innings lead.