Rohit Sharma creates History, Becomes 1st Man to be Part of 100 T20I Wins


Yet another milestone for our team captain.

Vishal Singh Jan. 12, 2024

India captain Rohit Sharma created history by becoming the first player to score 100 T20Is as India defeated Afghanistan by 6 wickets in Mohali on Thursday (January 11). In the opening match of the 3-match T20I series, Rohit's Men in Blue chased the target of 157 and scored 159 in just 17.3 overs with Shivam Dube's 40-ball 60* mixed with 5 fours and 2 sixes.

The star opener, who was dismissed at duck due to some communication mix-up with his opening partner Shubman Gill, ended up becoming the fourth cricketer to take part in 100 T20I wins.


Only England's Danny Wyatt (111) has won more T20I matches than Rohit Sharma. Australia women's captain Alyssa Healy and all-rounder Ellyse Perry (100) have also been a part of this legacy.

Rohit Sharma has a convenient lead in the class in men's cricket. Shoaib Malik of Pakistan has appeared in 86 T20I wins, while previous India skipper Virat Kohli has been important for India's 73 T20I wins. Malik and Kohli are second and third separately in the rundown of players with the most wins in T20I cricket.

Most Matches Won in Men's T20Is -

Rohit Sharma: 100

Shoaib Malik: 86

Virat Kohli: 73

Mohammad Hafeez: 70

Mohammad Nabi: 70

A lot of positives. Shivam Dube, the way Jitesh batted, Tilak as well, and then Rinku is in good form as well. We want to keep trying different things - try and bowl our bowlers in different situations of the game like you saw today, Washi bowled the 19th over. We want to challenge ourselves in the areas we are slightly uncomfortable with and the bowlers are not used to that. We want to try and do that. Keeping all of those things in mind, we'll try and do whatever is possible but not at the cost of the game. We want to make sure that we come out on top and play the game well. All in all, today was a good day for us

~Hitman added