3 Senior Players Turn Down Indies Central Contract!

west indies

Holder, Pooran & Kyle Mayers have turned down the central contract of CWI(Cricket West Indies).

Raman Khatri Dec. 11, 2023

Jason Holder, Nicholas Pooran, and Kyle Mayers are the 3 players who have turned down their contracts for Indies. Cricket West Indies said that they will be joining the team in T20s while announcing the 14 men's & 15 women's contracts.

Jason Holder and Nicholas Poora were former captains of the West Indies team, and Kyle Mayers played as an all-rounder. Some new faces have also joined the CWI(Cricket West Indies) - Alick Athanaze, Keacy Carty, Tagenarine Chanderpaul as batters, and left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie for the men's side and joining the women's side have Zaida James and Sheneta Grimmond.

This is not the first instance where key players of West Indies are turning down contracts, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, and Chris Gayle also did so back in the year 2010. For New Zealand, the pace's spearhead Trent Boult also gave up his contract in August last year but was back for the country in the World Cup 2023.

Kyle Mayers and Nicholas Pooran were retained by Lucknow Super Giants in IPL 2024, on the other hand, Jason Holder was released by Rajasthan Royals and will be looking for a new deal on 19th December in the auctions.

West Indies men's contracts for 2023-24

Alick Athanaze, Kraigg Brathwaite, Keacy Carty, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Joshua Da Silva, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Romario Shepherd

Out: Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Nicholas Pooran, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr

In: Alick Athanaze, Keacy Carty, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Gudakesh Motie

West Indies women's contracts for 2023-24

Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Cherry-Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Zaida James, Mandy Mangru, Hayley Matthews, Karishma Ramharack, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams