India vs South Africa ODI Series 2023-24: Live Score, Playing11, Schedule, Match Timings Info

ind vs sa 1st odi

Only stand-in captain KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, and Kuldeep Yadav from the World Cup final squad are part of the three-match series squad in South Africa.

Vishal Singh Dec. 16, 2023

Starting on December 17th, India will play a three-match ODI series against South Africa in Johannesburg, with KL Rahul leading the Indian cricket team in place of Rohit Sharma. Meanwhile, Aiden Markram will captain the South African team. After drawing the T20I series against South Africa, the Indian cricket team have made some changes to their ODI squad.

India's Shuffling -

India's ODI squad for the upcoming series against South Africa sees KL Rahul returning as captain in the absence of Rohit Sharma. Rinku Singh has been included in the ODI squad for the first time, while several players have been excluded from the T20I squad, including Suryakumar Yadav, Shubman Gill, and Ravindra Jadeja. Additionally, replacements such as Sai Sudharsan, Sanju Samson, and Axar Patel have been brought in. This decision comes after India drew the T20I series 1-1 against South Africa.

Team Africa -

South Africa, led by Aiden Markram in the ODI and T20I squads, and Temba Bavuma in the Test squad, has a blend of young and inexperienced players. Following Quinton de Kock's retirement, they are in search of an experienced opener to partner with Reeza Hendricks. The middle order is set to feature Rassie van der Dussen, Heinrich Klaasen, and David Miller.

IND vs SA Head to Head -

South Africa has won 50 out of the 91 ODI matches played against India, while India has won 38, with three matches ending in no results. However, in their most recent ODI encounter, India won by a record 243-run margin against South Africa in Kolkata on November 5, 2023.

India vs South Africa ODI Series - Squads:

India -

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C & WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, and Akash Deep.

South Africa -

Aiden Makram (C), Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Rassie van der Dussen, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Heinrich Klaasen (WK), Kyle Verreynne (WK), Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Mihlali Mpongwana, Lizaad Williams.