Ravindra Jadeja, KL Rahul Ruled Out of 2nd Test Against England Due to Injuries


Jadeja suffered a hamstring injury while Rahul complained of quadriceps pain

Vishal Singh Jan. 29, 2024

Following the shocking revelation by the BCCI on Monday, January 29, that India's starting players, KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja, would not be playing in the second Test against England, Indian cricket fans were taken aback.

Sarfaraz, Sourabh and Sundar will fill the void -

Two of India's Test match mainstays, Rahul and Jadeja, will not be playing in the second Test match. On Day 4 of the first Test match, India's all-rounder suffered a hamstring injury, and Rahul reported having pain in his right quadriceps. Sarfaraz Khan received his first Test call-up in their place, and Sourabh Kumar and Washington Sundar was added to the Indian side for the 2nd Test match.

'X' (formerly Twitter) was used by fans to express their grief at the unexpected news. Nonetheless, Sarfaraz's participation thrilled a lot of people because he has scored a lot of runs in domestic cricket. Fans believed that the batter's determination had finally paid off as he was selected for his first Test match. The fans were not happy as KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja played crucial innings in the 1st test match.

India amassed 436 runs in the first innings and took a 190-run lead because of the 86 runs made by Rahul and the 87 brilliant runs from Jadeja. Jadeja took 5 wickets in the first Test match. Nevertheless, India lost the Test match by 28 runs because Jadeja and Rahul were unable to assist the team in chasing down the 231 runs that were scored in the fourth innings.

Rajat Patidar in place of Kohli -

India's problems are compounded by the fact that their leading batsman, Virat Kohli, will not be participating in the second Test match in Vizag. India currently lags by 0-1 in the five-match series. The choice of Rajat Patidar to succeed Kohli was made. During the Test match, one of Sarfaraz or Patidar will get to make their debut.

India's updated Squad for 2nd Test vs England:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Avesh Khan, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Washington Sundar, Sourabh Kumar.