Ervine Returns To Zimbabwe Squads for the Sri Lanka Tour


Craig Ervine will join the Zimbabwe team as their captain after missing the series against Ireland due to his injury.

Raman Khatri Jan. 1, 2024

Craig Ervine, who missed the recent home series against Ireland due to a groin injury, has returned to captain Zimbabwe in the upcoming three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka. However, Sean Williams, a veteran allrounder, will not be able to join the tour due to a side injury he sustained in the second T20I in Harare last month. Meanwhile, uncapped offspinner Tapiwa Mufudza has been included in the ODI squad after an impressive performance in the domestic season, where he took the highest number of wickets in the Pro50 Championship 2023, helping Mashonaland Eagles secure the title. Additionally, fast bowling allrounder Faraz Akram, who was part of the squad for the Ireland ODIs but did not play, is in line to make his debut in the ODI format. Among the players who made their debut against Ireland, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Milton Shumba, and Tony Munyonga have retained their spots for the ODIs in Sri Lanka. However, the T20I squad led by Sikandar Raza, Kaitano, Mufudza, and Akram will be replaced by allrounder Brian Bennett, Ainsley Ndlovu, and Carl Mumba.

Zimbabwe endured a forgettable 2023, facing disappointment in two qualifying events for the World Cups. Their hopes of participating in the ODI World Cup in India were dashed as they failed to secure a top-two spot in the qualifying tournament they hosted. Additionally, they were unable to secure a place in the 20-team T20 World Cup to be held in the West Indies and USA, suffering defeats against Namibia and Uganda in the Africa Region Qualifier.

After the series against Ireland, Dave Houghton made the decision to step down as the head coach. Walter Chawaguta will take on the role of interim head coach for Zimbabwe's upcoming tour of Sri Lanka. The ODIs are scheduled for January 6, 8, and 11, followed by the T20Is on January 14, 16, and 18.

Zimbabwe ODI squad vs Sri Lanka

Craig Ervine (capt), Faraz Akram, Ryan Burl, Joylord Gumbie, Luke Jongwe, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Clive Madande, Wellington Masakadza, Tapiwa Mufudza, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Shumba Milton

Zimbabwe T20I squad vs Sri Lanka

Sikandar Raza (capt), Brian Bennett, Ryan Burl, Craig Ervine, Joylord Gumbie, Luke Jongwe, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Clive Madande, Wellington Masakadza, Carl Mumba, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Ainsley Ndlovu, Richard Ngarava, Milton Shumba