IPL vs PSL Full Comparison: Prize Money, Revenue, Ranking, Player Salary etc.

ipl vs psl (1)

Inspired by the IPL's success and financial rewards, Cricket Australia followed suit with the Big Bash League, and soon after, Pakistan joined the T20 party with its domestic tournament.

Vishal Singh Dec. 22, 2023

IPL vs PSL -

Cricket is a widely loved sport globally, with the emergence of several cricket leagues over time, notable among them are the Indian Premier League (IPL) and Pakistan Super League (PSL). These two prestigious tournaments have distinct features and contrasting elements, the leagues became super exciting and challenging for cricket lovers.

PSL Full Comparison

Founded in

IPL – IPL was established in the year 2007 by BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India), but its first season was played in the year 2008.

PSL– PSL was established in the year 2015 by PCB (Pakistan Cricket Board). And the first season of PSL was played in 2015-16.

Number of Seasons

IPL – Talking about the season of IPL, a total of 16 seasons of IPL have been played so far. And this year i.e. in 2024, the 17th season of IPL will be played which will start on 23rd March 2023.

PSL – A total of 7 seasons of PSL have been played so far. And this year the 8th season of PSL is being played. In the 7 seasons played so far, all the teams of PSL have won the PSL title at least once.

First champions

IPL – Rajasthan Royals won the first season of IPL. Rajasthan Royals won the first season of IPL under the captaincy of Shane Warne.

PSL – The first season of PSL was won by Islamabad United. Then the captain of Islamabad United was Misbah-ul-Haq.

Players Salary:

In the IPL 2022, star India cricketer KL Rahul was picked up by Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) for a whopping Rs 17 crore. Several other players, both Indian and overseas, are drawing salaries over Rs 10 crore. In the PSL 2022, several players in the platinum category earn a maximum of USD 170,000, which translates to about Rs 1.27 crore. Top players in the PSL such as Babar Azam and Kieron Pollard are in the Platinum category.

Number of Teams

IPL – Till 2021, a total of eight teams used to play in IPL. But in the year 2022, two new teams were included in the IPL. That’s why now a total of ten teams play in IPL. IPL Teams- Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Gujrat Titans, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Lucknow Supergiants

PSL – Only 6 teams play in PSL. PSL Teams- Islamabad United, Multan Sultans, Quetta Gladiators, Peshawar Zalmi, Karachi Kings, and Lahore Qalandars

Most Successful Teams

IPL – The most successful team of IPL is Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians have won the IPL title a total of five times so far. Mumbai Indians have won the IPL five times under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. That’s why Rohit Sharma is the most successful captain of the IPL.

PSL – The most successful team of PSL is Islamabad United. Islamabad United has won the PSL twice in total. Islamabad United won the PSL for the first time under the captaincy of Misbah-ul-Haq and for the second time under the captaincy of JP Duminy.

Most Successful Batsman and Bowler

IPLVirat Kohli is the most successful batsman in IPL. Virat Kohli has scored a total of 6624 runs in the IPL. The most successful bowler of the IPL is DJ Bravo. DJ Bravo has taken a total of 183 wickets in his IPL career.
PSL – The most successful batsman in PSL is Babar Azam. Babar Azam has scored a total of 2490 runs in the tournament. On the other hand, Wahab Riaz is the most successful bowler of the pulse. Wahab Riaz has taken 105 wickets in the tournament so far.

Number of Matches

IPL – About 70 league matches are played in IPL. A total of 74 matches are played in IPL including quarterfinals and finals. Which is played in about 2 months.
PSL – A total of 30 league matches are played in PSL. A total of 34 matches are played in PSL including playoffs and finals. All these matches of PSL are played in about a month.

Prize Money

Ipl – In the 2022 IPL, the winner will get a total of 20 crore INR  (2,416,400 USD), the runner-up will get 13 crore INR  (1,570,660 USD), the third place team will get 7 crore INR (845,740 USD), and the fourth place team will get a total of Rs. 6.5 crore INR rupees (785,330 USD) were given. Which is the highest in any franchise cricket league played around the world. In the T20 World Cup held in 2022, the winners were given about 1.6 million USD, the runner-up was given 800,000 USD and the semi-final losers were given 400,000 USD.

PSL – In the PSL to be held in 2023, a total of 120 million PKR  (450,000 USD) will be given to the winners and a total of 80 million PKR  (300,000 USD) to the runner-up. Winners were given 90 million PSR in PSL held in 2022.

Media Rights

IPLDisney Star – Viacom 18 has bought the media rights of IPL for 6.8 billion USD for the next five years.
PSL – The media rights of PSL have been bought by A sports – PTV Sports for 24 million USD for the next two years.

Most Expensive Player

IPL – Talking about the most expensive player of IPL, in the auction for IPL 2023, Punjab Kings included Sam Curran in their squad for Rs 18.25 crore. Sam Curran became the most expensive player in IPL history.
PSL – There is no auction in PSL like in IPL, all the teams of PSL pick the players from the draft. Players are given money according to their category. In PSL, the highest amount of money is given to the players coming in the platinum category. The base salary of this category is $130,000, and players can earn up to $170,000.


IPL – IPL in 2022 was seen by about 229 million people on their television.
PSL – Talking about the viewership of PSL, the PSL held in 2022 was seen live on TV by about 144 million people.

Player of the tournament:

PSL: Rs 14.1 lakh IPL: Rs 10 lakh

Highest run-scorer:

PSL: Rs 3.75 lakh IPL: Rs 10 lakh

Highest wicket-taker:

PSL: Rs 3.75 lakh IPL: Rs 10 lakh