Jay Shah Will Step Down As ACC President for ICC Chairman Role

Jay Shah Will Step Down As ACC President for ICC chairman role

Jay Shah would become the third Indian to hold this esteemed post within the International Cricket Council, following in the footsteps of N Srinivasan and Shashank Manohar.

Neha . Jan. 30, 2024

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) will hold its AGMs in Bali, Indonesia on 30 January 2024. Among other major decisions that will be taken, on Jay Shah. Shah is already the ACC president but he is most likely to resign from his position as the ACC president to take up ICC Chairman’s role.

Although, the election of the ACC president is not among the issues to be discussed in the ACC AGM; however, the subject can still be introduced into discussion. The ACC President's term shall be tenured for 2 years.

He joined the BCCI in 2015 and began his career before being appointed to the position of Secretary later this year as a member of the marketing committee and then on finance. In January 2021, Jay Shah participated in becoming one of the leaders of ACC as a result raising his influence within the cricket society.


The statements that if Jay Shah succeeds in getting the post of chairman, of the nation for the next two years he will become the third Indian to hold this prestigious position by ICC ( International Cricket Council ) after N Srinivasan and Shashank Manohar.

Cricket fans hope to get the feels of upcoming changes in the leadership dynamics at the top segments of that game with results from ACC’s meeting and an imminent possible bid by Jay Shah to unveil as ICC Chairman.

Will Jay Shah resign as secretary of the BCCI?

Jay Shah should resign as the ACC President for the ICC Chairman’s position. Shah has now served his second successive term as the head of ACC which passes from among full members every two years. However, he may renounce his current ACC post in a bid to advance his dream of heading the ICC. He will also be forced to step down as the BCCI secretary if he manages to win the ICC Chairman post.