Why Mohammed Siraj was Sidelined From India's Squad For 2nd Test Against England: BCCI Reveals

Mohammad Siraj

Siraj remains absent from Team India's XI for the 2nd Test of the series against England

Vishal Singh Feb. 2, 2024

Siraj needs a break -

Fast bowler Mohammed Siraj was sidelined from the Indian cricket team squad for the second Test match against England starting on Friday. A media release from BCCI said that the decision was taken "keeping in mind the duration of the series and the amount of cricket he has played in recent times". Avesh Khan replaced Siraj in the India squad for the match. 

"Mr Mohd. Siraj has been released from the India squad for the second Test against England in Vizag. The decision was taken keeping in mind the duration of the series and the amount of cricket he has played in recent times. He will be available for selection for the third Test in Rajkot. Avesh Khan has re-joined the team for the 2nd Test,"
~the BCCI release stated

In an attempt to level the series against England in the 2nd Test, India captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bat first on Friday.

Watch the Live Score on - www.scoresnow.in

The hosts, who are behind 1-0 in the five-match series, made three changes in Visakhapatnam following their opening defeat, two of which were necessary because of injuries to KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja.

Patidar in place of Virat Kohli -

Zaheer Khan, a former cricket player turned commentator, awarded batsman Rajat Patidar his first Test cap. Rahul, Jadeja, and Mohammed Siraj are replaced by Patidar, who was included in the team despite Virat Kohli's absence for the first two Tests, left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav, and fast bowler Mukesh Kumar.

On the eve of the match, Ben Stokes' England side was announced, while off-spinner Shoaib Bashir was given his first Test cap after Jack Leach was injured and couldn't continue in the 2nd match.

After taking Mark Wood's place, senior pace bowler James Anderson is still the only pacer in the squad. India suffered just their fourth defeat in 47 home Test matches since 2013 as England triumphed in Hyderabad by a margin of 28 runs.

IND and ENG Squad for 2nd Test -


Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Srikar Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav.


Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (capt), Ben Foakes, Rehan Ahmed, Tom Hartley, Shoaib Bashir, James Anderson.