12 Consecutive Wins For Rohit Sharma as a Full-Time White-Ball Captain for India

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma surpassed Kohli and Dhoni to etch his name in the history books

Vishal Singh Jan. 15, 2024

With his team's victory over Afghanistan in the 2nd T20 International in Indore, India captain Rohit Sharma solidified his place in history. At the Holkar Cricket Stadium on Sunday, the Men in Blue produced yet another outstanding performance, defeating the Afghans by 6 wickets. Player of the Match Axar Patel was acclaimed for his economical bowling.


After rejoining the T20I team, Rohit has struggled in his last two appearances. Even though the Indian captain has scored two ducks in a row in the series, he is still beating the record for most runs as captain of India. As India's captain, Rohit has won the most T20 International series, making history. India has won the series yet again as they hold an unstoppable 2-0 lead over Afghanistan in the current three-bout match.

Rohit Sharma surpassed Kohli and Dhoni -


As Team India's captain, Rohit has already won 12 T20I series. Before Rohit broke it on Sunday, Virat Kohli had the record for the most T20I series victories for India with 11 victories as captain. Eight series victories have been achieved by former India captain MS Dhoni. In addition, Rohit won his 41st match as India's T20I captain with the second T20I victory. In this ranking, he is essentially behind MS Dhoni, who has 42 victories (41 straight wins and 1 draw).

The way Rohit has returned to the bat has not impressed. In the first T20 international, he scored an uncommon run-out duck. In the second match, he scored another, this time via a bowled dismissal. On the fifth ball of the 2nd innings, Fazalhaq Farooqi bowled the Indian captain, who had backed away and was trying to defend the ball of the pacer.


Notably, both Shivam Dube and Yashasvi Jaiswal hit fifty runs each to lead the hosts to a commanding 6-wicket victory. To assist India in chasing 173 in 15.4 overs, Jaiswal struck 68 off 34 balls while Dube remaining undefeated with a 32-ball 63.