IND vs AFG T20I 2024: Full Squad and Head to Head Stats


India are scheduled to host Afghanistan for the first time in a T20I bilateral series starting from 11th January 2024.

Vishal Singh Jan. 4, 2024

India will host Afghanistan for the first time in a three-match T20 bilateral series starting January 11, 2024. The series against Afghanistan will be very important for India as no bilateral T20 series will be held before the T20 World Cup. Afghanistan recently won their third straight T20 series against the United Arab Emirates 2-1.

Young right-handed hitter Ibrahim Zadran led the team in this series. Rahmanullah Gurbaz scored his 20th century in the first match against the UAE, while Naveen-ul-Haq and Fazalhaq Farooqui were the plus points in the bowling department.

India's full-time T20I captain Hardik Pandya and stand-in captain Suryakumar Yadav, who recently led the team against Australia and South Africa, are each recovering from ankle injuries.


The Indian team will not be playing any T20I match apart from these three T20Is before the World Cup and the selectors will be eyeing for that angle too.

India vs Afghanistan Squad -

India (IND) -

Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Afghanistan (AFG) -

Ibrahim Zadran (captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicket-keeper), Ikram Alikhil (wicket-keeper), Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmatullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, Qais Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan

Head-to-Head Record

India has played against Afghanistan on five occasions and the Men In Blue have emerged victorious four times while one match ended with no result. Afghanistan are still searching for their maiden victory in the shortest format.

Total matches played - 5
India won - 4
Afghanistan won - 0
No results - 1