LPL 2024 is scheduled from July 1 to July 21


The Sri Lanka Cricket board announced about the Lanka Premier League

Vishal Singh Feb. 17, 2024

According to an SLC release, the fifth season of the Lanka Premier League will take place from July 1 to July 21 of this year. This implies the event will compete against Major League Cricket and the T20 Blast.

'Clashes of different leagues' -

The second season of MLC begins on July 4 and ends on July 28, while the T20 Blast runs from May 30 to September 14. There was a similar overlap last year, resulting in the LPL being unable to lure foreign players despite the money on offer. However, it has gained some appeal among local fans.

The 2024 season will again feature five teams, as it has from its inception. There will be 24 matches in all. The teams will play each other twice in the league stage, which will consist of 20 matches. There will then be a qualifier, an eliminator and a second eliminator, and the final - the same as with the IPL. Four of the five teams qualify for the playoffs, as they have done for the last three seasons.


Great competition ahead -

The LPL has seen substantial turnover in franchise ownership, with last year's owners a completely different set from those that had run teams in the inaugural edition, in 2020

The first three editions were won by the Jaffna Kings team (Stallions in the first season, Kings in seasons two and three), all captained by Thisara Perera. In 2023, B-Love Kandy, led by Wanindu Hasaranga (except for the final when he was injured), was victorious.

Leave a comment

(Your email address will not be published)