ODI GOAT: Virat Kohli bags 4th ICC ODI 'Player of the Year Award'


No one is even near to the charm and stats of Virat Kohli

Vishal Singh Jan. 25, 2024

The ICC Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year award for the 2023 season was won by the former India captain Virat Kohli on Thursday, adding yet another significant honour to an already impressive trophy collection. Leading Team India's batting attack in the ICC World Cup 2023, the former captain of India finished the host country's successful campaign with the bat. Run machine Kohli led the Men in Blue to the ICC event's final last year, shattering many records in the One Day International (ODI) World Cup at home.

The four players who made the shortlist for the ICC Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023 Award included Kohli. Along with Kohli, Daryl Mitchell of New Zealand, opener Shubman Gill, and bowler Mohammed Shami were earlier front-runners for the ICC prize. For the two-time world winners, superstar Virat Kohli smashed 1377 runs, claimed 1 wicket, and made twelve catches in 27 games. The batting legend concluded the 2023 World Cup as the top run scorer in the competition.


Kohli's exceptional 2023 season -

Kohli continued to score runs without restriction in the 2023 World Cup after finding his best form again in 2022. At the ICC event the previous year, he was named Player of the Tournament. At the 50-over World Cup, he reached a half-century in nine of his eleven innings. With 765 runs, the leading batsman achieved the highest total in World Cup history for any batter. At the World Cup, Kohli overtook Sachin Tendulkar to accomplish the unique distinction. In the ODI format, Kohli broke the record and became the first hitter to score 50 hundreds. During the World Cup, Kohli batted for India at a strike rate of 90.31 and averaged 95.62. In the main event, the batting maestro scored three hundreds.

Khawaja wins Test Cricketer award & Cummins claims Sir Garfield Sobers trophy -

Usman Khawaja was selected as the Men's Test Cricketer of the Year for 2023 by the ICC, which honors the top players in all forms of international cricket. For the ICC award, Khawaja defeated England Joe Root, India's Ravichandran Ashwin, and Travis Head. Rachin Ravindra of New Zealand won the ICC Men's Emerging Cricketer of the Year title, while top-ranked batsman Suryakumar Yadav was named the ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year 2023. After a trophy-filled season, Australian captain Pat Cummins, who led the Test Team of the Year for the 2023 season, won the Sir Garfield Sobers Award.